BUT JESUS DECLARED “ SOMEONE TOUCHED ME, FOR I KNOW THAT POWER HAS GONE OUT OF ME” (LUKE 8:46)

Jesus was surrounded by people. The crowds followed and touched him the whole time. However, one touch made him stop. “But Jesus declared: who touched me?”. The disciples even tried to explain him that the crowds were around him but he insisted on asking “ Who touched me? ” It was not just one touch.

The person who touched Jesus was an ill woman, there is no record of her name in the bible but we can take some lessons out of her story. The bible says that the woman was suffering from a bleeding that was ravaging her for twelve years (Luke 8:43). She tried numerous doctors and methods, however nothing could heal her. In Leviticus 17:11,14 and in Genesis 9:4, says that blood represents life, so the woman´s life was slipping away in these twelve long years. The woman had already lost hope until she heard about a man. A man who was healing ill people. A man who was bringing life to people: Jesus. The Lord Jesus is willing to heal us, but first we need to take an attitude.

“Behold the Lord´s hand is not short that it can not save, nor his ear is so dull that it cannot hear” (Isaiah 59:1)

The woman saw him among the crowd and did not hesitate. Despite her weakness, (according to the law in that time she couldn´t be in the midst of a lot of people as she was considered to be impure – Leviticus 15:25-27) she entered the crowd to touch the one that could made her free.

The passage says that the woman touched Jesus´ garment and was healed. Her faith was so big that a single touch gave her the cure. Her touch was so special that Jesus felt power going out of him.

“But Jesus declared “ someone touched me, for I know that power has gone out of me”        (luke 8:46).

This woman´s desease typifies the sin that imprisons us. If we let the sin stay, the life within us will be dissipated. The longest the sin remains the least force we´ll have to proceed. For twelve years, this woman`s life was being attacked by this illness, until she took the attitude of becoming free. Do not hesitate. Do not wait for too long.

Have the attitude of touching the Lord´s garments through prayer and become free of what ever imprisons you.

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. Now my eyes will be open and my ears attentive to the prayers offered in this place.” (2 Cr 7:14-15)

Author: Fernanda Amorim

Translation of the article “Alguém me tocou” (Blog “Eu Vos Escrevi”)

Português